



# For Immediate Release

Contact: Ryan Lamppa, PRRO Circuit Media Contact, ryan@eventpro.us

## Boilermaker 15K Hosts 25th PRRO Championship

Seven PRRO Circuit winners, including reigning PRRO champion Rosemary Wanjiru, also to vie for \$10,000 Super Bonus at 45th edition on Sunday, July 10, 2022

UTICA, NY – (July 8, 2022) – The **PRRO Circuit** will celebrate its **25th PRRO Championship** presented by Boilermaker 15K on Sunday, July 10. The 45th Boilermaker will offer \$65,100 in prize money, including \$14,500 U.S. prize money. In addition, at the 2022 PRRO Championship, seven PRRO Circuit winners, listed below with respective qualifying race, are entered and eligible to compete for the **\$10,000** <u>PRRO Super Bonus</u>, which is awarded to the PRRO Championship winner (bonus split if an eligible male and female win the PRRO titles).

*WOMEN (4):* Reigning PRRO champion **Rosemary Wanjiru** (Kenya), 2019 Lilac Bloomsday 12K; **Susanna Sullivan** (USA), 2022 Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile; **Biruktayit Degefa** (Ethiopia), 2022 Lilac Bloomsday 12K; and **Savannah Boucher** (USA), 2021 Boilermaker 15K *MEN (3):* Edwin Kimutai (Kenya), 2021 Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile; Charles Wanjiku (Kenya), 2022 Lilac Bloomsday 12K; and Stephen Rathbun (USA), 2021 Boilermaker 15K

The aforementioned runners are also eligible for the **PRRO Event Champion's Bonus** (\$1500 cumulative for eligible athletes who do not win the PRRO Championship but do finish in places 2-10 at the PRRO Championship). Any athlete who wins the PRRO Super Bonus is not eligible for the PRRO Event Champion's Bonus.

If the male and female winners of the Boilermaker PRRO Championship have not won any of the events on the current 2020-22 Circuit, they will be awarded \$2500 each as the PRRO Championship Circuit winners in addition to the prize money at the PRRO Championship event.

"After a three-year hiatus due to COVID-19 restrictions, we are excited to see the return of the PRRO Championship at the Boilermaker 15K as the summertime classic hosts our title race for the fourth time," said PRRO President **Don Kardong**.

The PRRO Circuit showcases world class competition at three classic American road race events and offers more than \$410,000 in prize money overall, including \$132,000 in U.S.-only money. The PRRO Circuit, a nationwide series of premier non-marathon road racing events, is organized and promoted by the **Professional Road Running Organization (PRRO)**, an alliance of race directors. Due to the impacts of COVID-19, the 2019-20 and 2020-21 PRRO Circuit seasons were cancelled.

### PRRO CIRCUIT EVENTS 2019-22

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 5, 2019, Spokane, WA \$81,000 in prize money (\$20,000 U.S. prize money) WINNERS: Gabriel Geay, Tanzania, 34:50 and Rosemary Wanjiru, Kenya, 39:06

**Boilermaker 15K**, July 14, 2019, Utica, NY \$65,100 in prize money (\$14,500 U.S. prize money) *WINNERS: Gabriel Geay, Tanzania, 43:36 and Caroline Rotich, Kenya, 49:08* 

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, September 12, 2021,

Washington, DC \$52,000 in prize money (\$32,000 U.S. prize money) plus performance & record bonuses *WINNERS: Edwin Kimutai, Kenya, 45:45 and Nell Rojas, USA, 52:13*  Boilermaker 15K, October 10, 2021, Utica, NY

No prize money WINNERS: Stephen Rathbun, USA, 47:32 and Savannah Boucher, USA, 56:24

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2022, Washington, DC \$71,000 in prize money (\$31,000 U.S. prize money) plus performance & record bonuses WINNERS: Nicholas Kosimbei, Kenya, 45:15 (tied course record) and

Susanna Sullivan, USA, 52:32

<u>Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K</u>, May 1, 2022, Spokane, WA \$81,000 in prize money (\$20,000 U.S. prize money) *WINNERS: Charles Wanjiku, Kenya, 35:07 and Biruktayit Degefa, ETH, 38:48* 

#### THE 25th PRRO CHAMPIONSHIP

45th Boilermaker 15K, July 10, 2022, Utica, NY \$65,100 in prize money (\$14,500 U.S. prize money)

To-date, PRRO Circuit events have produced 17 world and 17 U.S. road records, awarded more than \$7.8 million in prize money and seen more than 2.5 million runners cross their finish lines. In addition, since 1996, the PRRO Championship race has paid out more than \$1.9 million including \$160,000 in PRRO Championship bonus money.

#### **PRRO Championship and Circuit Year**

The PRRO Circuit, launched in 1995, starts and finishes the Circuit Year at the same event that will also host the season-ending PRRO Championship race. The reigning titlists of the PRRO Championship and the event winners on the current Circuit are eligible to compete for the PRRO Super Bonus at the PRRO Championship.

Visit **PRRO.org** for more information, including its history and past champions, as well as how to join the PRRO Circuit.

Please do not respond to this email. This email address is not monitored. All inquiries should be directed to <u>ryan@eventpro.us</u>.

Home | Email