Home  |  Email      







For Immediate Release


Ryan Lamppa,
PRRO Circuit Media Contact

Lilac Bloomsday 12K Opens 2018-19 PRRO Circuit

The 42nd event edition on Sunday, May 6, offers $50,000 Open prize purse plus $20,000 American-only money; overall 2018-19 Circuit event prize money exceeds $330,000, including $109,500 U.S.-only money

SPOKANE, Wash. - (April 26, 2018) - The Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K on Sunday, May 6, will open the 2018-19 PRRO Circuit racing season. The PRRO Circuit showcases world-class competition at four classic American road race events shorter than the marathon distance and offers more than $330,000 in guaranteed prize money overall, with $109,500 available for U.S. athletes. The iconic U.S. road race that attracts 45,000 participants annually will also host the 2019 PRRO Championship on May 5.

The 2018 Bloomsday will award an overall Open prize purse totaling $50,000 that goes 15-deep, with each race champion taking home $7000, as well as a $20,000 American-only purse. In addition, the 42nd Bloomsday winners will qualify for the $10,000 PRRO Super Bonus available at the 2019 PRRO Championship.

"We're looking forward to opening the new PRRO Circuit season, and we're also excited about presenting the PRRO Championship race for our second time in May 2019," said Don Kardong, Lilac Bloomsday Run race director and Professional Road Running Organization (PRRO) Circuit President.


Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 6, 2018, Spokane, WA
$81,000 in prize money ($20,000 U.S. prize money)

Boilermaker 15K, July 8, 2018, Utica, NY
$66,000 in prize money ($14,500 U.S. prize money)

Publix Gasparilla Half Marathon, February 24, 2019, Tampa, FL
$40,000 in prize money ($30,000 U.S. prize money)

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 7, 2019, Washington, DC
$65,000 in prize money ($25,000 U.S. prize money) plus performance bonuses

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K: The PRRO Championship, May 5, 2019, Spokane, WA
$81,000 in prize money ($20,000 U.S. prize money)

At the 24th PRRO Championship, reigning PRRO champions and any athlete who has won at least one of the 2018-19 Circuit events are eligible for the $10,000 PRRO Super Bonus, which is awarded to the winner of the 2019 PRRO Championship (split if an eligible male and female win the PRRO titles. Those aforementioned runners are also eligible for the PRRO Event Champion's Bonus ($1500 cumulative for eligible athletes who do not win the PRRO Championship but do place in the top 10 at the PRRO Championship). Any athlete who wins the PRRO Super Bonus is not eligible for the PRRO Event Champion's Bonus.

If the male and female winners of the PRRO Championship have not won any of the events on the current Circuit, they will win $2500 each as the PRRO Circuit champions in addition to the prize money at the PRRO Championship event.

PRRO Circuit events have produced 17 world and 17 U.S. road records, awarded more than $7.2 million in prize money and seen more than 2.4 million runners cross their finish lines. In addition, since 1996, the PRRO Championship race has paid out more than $1.8 million, including $148,500 in PRRO Championship bonus money.

The PRRO Circuit, a long-time pioneer and champion of a clean sport, has funded drug testing at its events since 2006. During the 2017-18 season, there were more than 50 in-competition tests and an undisclosed number of pre-competition tests.

PRRO Championship and Circuit Year

The PRRO Circuit, launched in 1995, starts and finishes the Circuit Year at the same event that will also host the season-ending PRRO Championship race. The reigning titlists of the PRRO Championship and the event winners on the current Circuit are eligible for the PRRO Super Bonus at the PRRO Championship.

Visit PRRO.org for more information, including PRRO's history, as well as how to join the PRRO Circuit.

Please do not respond to this email; this address is not monitored. Please direct all inquiries to media@prro.org

Home  |  Email


Copyright ©2018 by PRRO, 1414 N. Belt St., Spokane, WA 99201- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED