Home  |  Email      







For Immediate Release


Ryan Lamppa,
PRRO Circuit Media Contact


PRRO Championship Returns to Boilermaker 15K
Top international fields expected including defending champions Eliud Ngetich & Mary Wacera and 8 of 9 PRRO Circuit 2015-16 series winners; $60,000-plus prize purse and PRRO bonuses available

UTICA, NY - (June 30, 2016) - The PRRO Circuit showcases world class competition at 5 prestigious road race events shorter than the marathon distance, with $400,000 in prize money and bonuses. The 39th Boilermaker Road Race in Utica, NY on Sunday, July 10, 2016 hosts the 21st PRRO Championship and offers more than $60,000 in prize money plus the PRRO Super Bonus and PRRO Event Champion's Bonus.

The PRRO Super Bonus offers $10,000 for a 2015-16 PRRO event champion(s) who also wins the PRRO Championship crown (bonus is split if eligible male and female win the PRRO title in the same year), while the PRRO Event Champion's Bonus is $1500 awarded to current series event champions - see list below - who also place in the top 10 at the PRRO Championship.

If the male or female winners of the PRRO Championship have not won any 2015-16 circuit event, they will win $2500 each as the PRRO Circuit champions in addition to the prize money offered by the PRRO Championship event.

"The PRRO Championship presented by Boilermaker promises to be a really outstanding race. Boilermaker always enjoys high-level competition, but with the champions of almost every PRRO Circuit event planning to be there, this should be an especially competitive year," said Don Kardong, PRRO Circuit President.

Last year, Boilermaker also hosted the PRRO Championship and Kenyans Eliud Ngetich and Mary Wacera won the titles in 43:31 and 48:49, respectively, plus $7000 each as race champion. Wacera also earned an extra $15,000 in bonus monies ($10,000 PRRO Circuit Purse and a PRRO "Bump-Up Bonus" of $5000).

With their 2015-16 Circuit wins, 8 of 9 eligible athletes below, except Tyler Pennel who is injured, are expected at Boilermaker to chase after PRRO Championship bonus money.

PRRO Circuit 2015-16

Boilermaker 15K: The PRRO Championship, July 12, 2015, Utica, NY
Eliud Ngetich, Kenya, 43:31
Mary Wacera, Kenya, 48.49

EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler, Oct. 25, 2015, Pittsburgh, PA
Tyler Pennel, USA, 46:50, course record
Buze Diriba, Ethiopia, 52:55, course record

World's Best 10K, Feb. 28, 2016, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Bedan Karoki, Kenya, 27:42
Mary Wacera, Kenya, 31:49

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2016, Washington, DC
Sam Chelanga, USA, 48:26
Veronica Nyaruai Wanjiru, Kenya, 53:12

40th Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2016, Spokane, WA
Philip Langat, Kenya, 34:26
Cynthia Limo,
Kenya, 38:03 (course record)

The World's Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico on Feb. 28 opened the 2016 PRRO racing season with world leading wins by Kenyans Bedan Karoki and Mary Wacera in 27 minutes, 42 seconds and 31:49, respectively. The 44th Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile in Washington, DC on April 3 was the next PRRO stop, and on a cold, windy day, Sam Chelanga (USA) and Veronica Nyaruai Wanjiru (KEN) took home the titles in 48:26 and 53:12, respectively. Chelanga was the first American male champion at the storied event since 1990.

The Lilac Bloomsday Run on Sunday, May 1 in Spokane, WA was the fourth 2015-16 Circuit stop and the final stop before the PRRO Championship presented by Boilermaker on July 10. The 40th edition of the classic 12K road race offered $81,000 in prize money and Philip Langat (KEN) won the men's race in 34:22, while Cynthia Limo (KEN) defended her title, clocking a course record 38:03, the #3 women's all-time 12K road performance.

To-date, PRRO Circuit events have produced 18 world and 17 U.S. road records, awarded more than $6.8 million in prize money and seen more than 2.3 million runners cross their finish lines. Since 1996, the PRRO Championship race has paid out more than $1.6 million.

The PRRO Circuit, a long-time pioneer and champion of a clean sport, has funded drug testing at its events since 2006. During the 2014-15 season, USADA conducted more than 50 in-competition tests and an undisclosed number of pre-competition tests.

Don Kardong, 1976 Olympic marathoner and Lilac Bloomsday race director, is the current PRRO Circuit President.

PRRO Championship and Circuit Year

The PRRO Circuit rotates among the five PRRO Circuit races with the Circuit Year starting and finishing at the same event. The event will serve as a PRRO Championship qualifier the first time it is held and will also host the PRRO Circuit Championship the second time it is held.

The 2016-17 PRRO Circuit will begin with the EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler on November 6, 2016 and will conclude with the EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler on October 29, 2017.

Visit www.prro.org for more information, including how to join the PRRO Circuit.

Home  |  Email


Copyright ©2016 by PRRO, 1414 N. Belt St., Spokane, WA 99201- ALL RIGHTS RESERVED